- 1866. March 17. Termination of the Reciprocity Treaty, in consequence of notice given by the United States.
 - June 1. Invasion of Canada by Fenians. Battle of Ridgeway, and retreat of the volunteers
 - Withdrawal of the Fenians into the United States. June 3.
 - First meeting of Parliament in the new buildings at Ottawa. June 8. At this meeting the final resolutions necessary on the part of the Province of Canada
- to effect the Confederation of the provinces were passed.
 November 17. Union of Vancouver Island and British Columbia proclaimed.
 1867. February 10. The British North America Act passed by the Imperial Legislature.
 July 1. Union of the provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick under the name of the Dominion of Canada. The names of Upper and Lower Correlations and the October and the lower of the Scotia and New Brunswick under the name of the October and the scotia and New Brunswick under the name of the October and the scotia and New Brunswick and Scotia an
- Canada were changed to Ontario and Quebec respectively.
 Lord Monck was the first Governor General of the Dominion, and the first Parliament met on the 6th November, Sir John A. Macdonald being Premier.
 1868. April 7. Hon. T. D'Arcy McGee, M.P., murdered at Ottawa.
 July 31. The Rupert's Land Act passed by the Imperial Government providing

 - for the acquisition by the Dominion of the North-west Territories.
 - Uniform rate of 3 cents for letters throughout the Dominion adopted.
- 1869. June 22. Bill passed providing for the Government of the North-west Territories. October 29. Hon. Wm. McDougall appointed Lieutenant-Governor. Red River Rebellion.

November 19. Deed of surrender signed, Hudson's Bay Company to Her Majesty. 1870. March 4. Thomas Scott shot at Fort Garry.

- September 24. Arrival at Fort Garry of the expedition under Colonel (now Lord) Wolseley, when the rebels were found to have dispersed.
- Fenians crossed the frontier at Trout River, in Quebec, but were driven May 25. back by the volunteers.
- Addition of the North-west Territories to the Dominion and admission of July 15. the Province of Manitoba into the Confederation. This province was created out of a portion of the newly acquired territory.
- 1871. Post Cards issued.

 - May 8. Signing of the Treaty of Washington. July 20. Admission of British Columbia into the Confederation.
- Population of the four provinces, 3,485,761; of Manitoba, 18,995; of British Columbia, 36,224, and of Prince Edward Island, 94,021. Total, 3,635,001,
 November 11. The last regular troops left Quebec.
 1872. Abolition of dual representation. Dominion archives established.
 1873. May 20. Death of Sir George E. Cartier, in London.

- July 1. Admission of Prince Edward Island into the Confederation.
- 1875. Rupert's Land and North-west Territories placed under jurisdiction of a Lieutenant-Governor separate and distinct from Manitoba.
 - Presbyterian Church in Canada formed by the union of all the Presbyterian Churches.
- 1876. Opening of the Intercolonial Railway from Quebec to Halifax.

June 5th. Supreme Court of Canada first session. Legislative Council of Manitoba abolished. District of Keewatin created by Act of Parliament.

- 1877. June 20. Great fire in St. John, New Brunswick.
- November 23. Award by Halifax Fisheries Commission of the sum of \$5,500,000
- 1879. Adoption of a protective tariff, otherwise called the National Policy.
 1880. Death of the Hon. George Brown.
 All British possessions on North America continent (excepting Newfoundland) annexed to Canada by Imperial Order in Council from 1st Sept., 1880. The Arctic Archipelago transferred to Canada by Imperial Order in Council. Royal Canadian Academy of Arts founded by the Marquis of Lorne.
 - Contract signed for the construction of the Canadian Pacific Railway. October 21. This contract was subsequently ratified by 44 Vic., c. 1 (1881).
 Population of the Dominion, 4,324,810. Royal Society of Canada founded.
 First sod turned by the Canadian Pacific Railway Company.
 Provisional districts of Assiniboïa, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Athabaska
- 1881. April 4.
 - May 2.
- 1882. May 8. created.
 - First meeting of the Royal Society of Canada in Ottawa. May 25.
 - June 22. Constitutionality of the Canada Temperance Act confirmed by the Privy Council

The new seat of Government for the North-west Territories received August 23. the name of Regina.

1883. Methodist Churches in Canada formed into one body-The Methodist Church in Canada.

First Congress of the Church of England in Canada opened in Hamilton.